Strawberry Cheesecake

It’s been a while, hasn’t it? But some things don’t change, like my long-held tradition of blogging at the most unsuitable and oddest hours. Like now. It’s ten to eight in the morning, and I haven’t had a wink of sleep the entire night.

But, of course, I’m blogging.

The last time I wrote anything here I was hoping for snow. This time around I’m revelling in the daffodils and bluebells that have taken to sprouting in random clumps around campus. Such a joy to look at! But in spite of all excitement in anticipating a new season that it scares me how time kind of teleported past me in an instant without my noticing.

So many things have happened. So many things have changed! People and feelings. Discoveries and reflections. Dawning realisations that many times you can’t keep who and what you love close to you forever. It’s impossible to capture all these things and its elements of love and joy and sorrow, of highs and lows, in a single composition, yet there is never time to sit and write about every single moment you want to treasure or remember. Or sometimes it is simply too much energy to muster. Occasionally I get the feeling that I haven’t been blogging lately because I’m a bit afraid to reflect upon what I’ve become of late. Being a person is like managing a bank account. If you lose control, you accumulate expenses (or guilt trips) and at the end of it, all you want to do is crumple the bank statement, toss it in the bin, pretend nothing ever happened and wish you could wipe the slate clean and start afresh.

Yes, I confess I have chalked up sky-high expenses, and there is nothing I’d like better to do than tear my bank statement into pieces and burn it all up like how Jenny in Gossip Girl got her precious dresses set on fire.

Despite all the gloom and doom, the easter holidays look to be exciting! Although I really literally am going to be accumulating expenses like nobody’s business thanks to the travel plans in line. A week in London, two days in Blackpool, five days in Edinburgh, and three in Weymouth, Dorset – I must, by hook or by crook, find my way to Chesil Beach. If I don’t I won’t ever forgive myself. But isn’t it all so exciting?? I can’t wait! Chesil Beach is on my life itinerary and I can’t believe I’m actually going to go there in a few weeks!

I’m slightly envious of all the other people who are going to Europe and hence get to stamp their passports a few times this Easter. But then again, I shouldn’t succumb to what I shall call the “Resident Complex”. When you’re a resident of a place, you’re TOO familiar with it that you take everything within the place for granted. You don’t stop to smell the flowers! You keep thinking of all the wonders you want to see outside the boundaries of that place when in fact all the best things of all might be right where you are.

All the people who’ve visited Malacca (where I’m from) keep regaling me with tales of the fantastic Malaccan Chicken Rice Balls (I know, it sounds like such a delight, doesn’t it???? hahaha) when I’ve only eaten that I think once in my life (and truth be told I don’t really care to eat it again). Learning from that lesson, I’m not going to study in England and the UK without experiencing most, if not all, of the Chicken Rice Balls that England or the UK can offer before making any grand plans to traverse the whole of Europe.

So there.

Holidays aside, the post-holiday term’s got some excitement in store too! I’ll be singing in a 8-10-person vocal ensemble for the chorus of a play- ‘Tis Pity She’s a Whore’ and it really looks like it’s going to be good fun, from how the repertoire was described (from hymns to jazz to blues to Louis Armstrong or something like that). Also there are the Malaysian and Singaporean-organised events coming up where I’ll be performing solos and yes that will be really really exciting.

Daunting. Just a bit.

But exciting all the same I can’t wait!

I’ve been cooking and baking quite a bit lately as well, and I really like it. Remember my attempts at domestication after my A-levels? Now I’m making good use of it 😉

I think that’s about all the interesting things I have to say. Of course, some other really boring and insignificant things happened as well, like how I flunked a test and an essay, but who really cares to listen to these kind of things!

P.s. If you’re in Singapore and Malaysia and you know I love you that much, wait for a postcard!

P.p.s. Some pictures to keep you entertained:

If You Can't Afford It, Pose with It.

If You Can't Afford It, Pose with It.

Daffodils and Us

Daffodils and Us

I'd Rather Not Explain

I'd Rather Not Explain

On Top of the World...or London

On Top of the World...or London

I Swear We're Not Like That in Real Life

I Swear We're Not Like That in Real Life

Mirror, Mirror

Mirror, Mirror

