Short update-

Busy days! Went south to Singapore from Saturday to Sunday and then came back, slept for 5 hours, then went up north to KL from Monday to Tuesday to get some administrative work settled. I refuse to look at Malaysian highways for the next few days. Shall blog about my emotionally-charged Singapore trip later, as soon as I gather proper pictures from Terry, Vanessa, Ruth and Avonne!

I suddenly feel really, really, really excited about getting to Warwick and taking short walks to Costcutter’s and Tesco and Wilkinson’s and Boots and New Look and all that. And paying visits to the Warwick’s Arts Centre and preparing for UWCC auditions and strolling across the woods to Gibbet Hill because I didn’t get to do that when I was there in 2004.

—-

Anyway was checking out Eva Cassidy on Youtube earlier today and then I got such a shock when I read, “the late Eva Cassidy” – she passed away from melanoma at age 33. Awfully tragic! She had a beautiful voice- just listen to “Songbird” (video below) and check out the lyrics.


For you there’ll be no crying
For you the sun will be shining
Cause I feel that when I’m with you
It’s alright, I know it’s right

And the songbirds keep singing
Like they know the score
And I love you, I love you, I love you
Like never before

To you, I would give the world
To you, I’d never be cold
Cause I feel that when I’m with you
It’s alright, I know it’s right

And the songbirds keep singing
Like they know the score
And I love you, I love you, I love you
Like never before

Like never before; like never before.

I don’t know who wrote them, but they are beautiful as well. It’s one of those songs with lyrics so general that it is applicable to almost anything at any point in time, and melody that is simultaneously melancholic and hopeful, that the song strikes a deep, deep unexplainable chord and invokes a profound sadness and sweet contentment that resonate at equally deafening volumes.

I read some interpretations of the lyrics online. Someone says it’s a tribute to a lover, but a bittersweet tribute- perhaps after a quarrel. The ‘songbirds keep singing’ because it is as if the author lost control over her love despite her/his sense of responsibility towards the other person (resulting in the quarrel), and there is nothing the author can do, and the songbirds just keep singing like nothing has happened. A sense of helplessness, I suppose? Yet no matter what, the author loves the other person “like never before”.

Ha. Now for MY interpretation.

Unsurprisingly, I relate the first two lines to death- the person is as sweet as sweet can be, to the extent that “there will be no crying” and the “sun will be shining”. And the “songbirds keep singing like they know the score” – like they know how much the author loves her departed other half, like they know their love and life story. And the author continues to love, the same way the songbirds keep singing, “like never before”- even after death.

How about that? I like mine better! Occam’s Razor – the simplest explanation is the best.

