…Jonathan Rhys Meyer’s blue-grey eyes are magic.

That said, I’m pretty sure you know the rest of my opinion is going to be biased.

Still, August Rush (2007) is a very good movie, excluding Rhys Meyers. This is the plot summary from imdb:

“The story of a charismatic young Irish guitarist and a sheltered young cellist who have a chance encounter one magical night above New York’s Washington Square, but are soon torn apart, leaving in their wake an infant, August Rush, orphaned by circumstance. Now performing on the streets of New York and cared for by a mysterious stranger, August uses his remarkable musical talent to seek the parents from whom he was separated at birth.”

This movie is a modern fairytale at heart, held in one piece by a very endearing soundtrack of interwoven genres of music–rock, orchestral, gospel mainly, and topped with a dash of typical modern fairytale-esque synthesised music, whatever you call it (which I love. Have you ever heard Love Actually’s? Haha). Many silly moments, but those are what I love the movie for.

It is a movie told through about a billion beautiful coincidences that made me cry (what’s new), while simultaneously balling my fists and gritting my teeth and cupping my mouth in frustration because it is so upsetting that I know something important that the characters don’t! I wanted to scream and tell him THAT’S YOUR SON YOU’RE TALKING TO, YOU ASTOUNDINGLY HANDSOME IRISH FOOL!!!


(Btw that’s Freddie Highmore aka Charlie Bucket from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory)

The music is not amazing, but very pleasant. A good match to the movie, I reckon, because that’s the kind of atmosphere that the entire movie settles into. A quiet amazement at the lovingly wonderful surprises of life, wrapped, with a nice silky ribbon, in a very positive energy because you know the ending’s gonna be good anyway (like a Christmas box where you already know what’s inside but the giver wraps it up prettily for you anyway). But I really loved the scene where Robin Williams honked away despondently at the harmonica in the subway while the orchestra played aboveground. His music was so dissonant, and out of place that you knew right then, there’s the end of him. So sad…

…but who’d care about him, haha, when Rhys Meyers was about to reunite with his long-lost love?

I read some reviews which said that the characters (esp the two beautiful people above) lack development, but hey. It’s a fairy tale, and it was meant to be one. Shrug. It’s not like it’s a Mozart biography, it’s more of..that fairy tale about that princess who got her identity robbed by some meanie then was discovered when the King eavesdropped on her whisperings to a pipe or something? What’s that fairytale called again? That kind. You’re not supposed to question how he knew his parents were watching, or how come the subway happened to be right below Central Park (not sure if I got that right), how a random homeless stranger can barge into Julliard and steal the guy away so easily without security thrust in his face, how Louis suddenly knew that Lyla was standing there.

You’re just supposed to be happy and receptive, stop thinking, stop being critical, stop poking for loopholes, and go aww at the aww moments! Don’t watch expecting a deep, thoughtful insight into a prodigy’s mind, or the exploration of the sorrow of separated lovers (though I must say they do the tortured/pensive look rather well), or the suffering of street kids in New York, anything like that. Expect a fairytale, no questions asked, and a nice one with good-looking stars too. Heh.

Anyway, I’ll be downloading downloaded the soundtrack (SOUNDS GOOD), for sure <3. No prizes for guessing what happens at the end, though.

SWOON

Damn I need more Rhys Meyers movies. He’s a great actor. Hell I’m not even sure if it’s because of those deep…amazing…eyes…(can you hear me drowning) or because he’s really good. I mean, there really is something about those eyes. They’re enchanting! HAHA.

And that hair, and that woollen turtleneck (<33), and him playing the guitar, and him SINGING…voice isn’t all that great, but satisfactory. Enough huskiness and raspiness while maintaining that crew-cut boyish edge to make me happy. Oh right, that’s not a musical consideration, pardon me. Haha.

AND THAT ACCENT. AH.

To that imdb plot summary giver: Ha! Charismatic is an understatement. Hmph.

P.S: I don’t know why I keep calling him by his last names, but I found out I wasn’t the only one. I think it must be because three words are too many. Haha.

Anyway the conclusion is, Jonathan Rhys Meyers is <3! (: As far as celebs go.

I WANT TO WATCH THE TUDORS!
AND BY THE WAY I SUCK AT DRIVING.

Which is actually, really frustrating. And nobody can help me. I mean, the uncle probably did all he could already, and I think I actually made a very patient old man impatient.

Couldn’t have been more blatant than that.
I WISH I DIDN’T HAVE TO DRIIIVEEEE!!

